Riverside Local Schools
Educating Excellence!

Message from School Counselors

Given these uncertain times, the Riverside Local School District want you to know that the school counselors will be available to answer questions throughout the time that we are away from school.  The best way to communicate with the school counselors is through email. 


Kathy Francis - 6th Grade - kathy.francis@riversideschools.net
Morgan Ramacciato - 7th Grade - morgan.ramacciato@riversideschools.net
Erin Falvey - 8th Grade - erin.falvey@riversideschools.net
Alyssa Winer - 9th Grade - alyssa.winer@riversideschools.net
Scott Bailis - 10th -12th Grade: A- Ha - scott.bailis@riversideschools.net
Kari Pennock - 10th -12th Grade: He - O - kari.pennock@riversideschools.net
Lindsay Kosinski - 10th - 12th Grade:  P - Z - lindsay.kosinski@riversideschools.net

We also understand that in these stressful times, some students may desire face-to-face communication to help them work through some issues that may arise.  We are going to try to accommodate this through Google Hangouts, where a student and school counselor can “live chat”.  If the case arises, please email your school counselor and we will initiate the Google Hangout feature available on the chromebooks.

For emergency purposes, see contacts below.

Crisis Hotline/Suicide Hotline:  (440) 953 - TALK (8255)
Lake County Sheriff:  (440) 354 - 3434
Text:  Crisis Text Line - Text - 4hope to 741741
Tweet:  The Lifeline:  Twitter - @800273TALK

General coping strategies and tips to reduce stress.

When things feel uncertain or don’t feel safe, it’s normal to feel stressed. Right now many of us are worried about COVID-19, or also known as “Coronavirus,” but there are helpful strategies to use to prevent further stress. It’s important to note that we are not helpless in light of current news events.  We can always choose our response.  If you are struggling, here are some things you can do to take care of your mental health in the face of uncertainty:

  1. Separate what is in your control and what is not! Wash your hands, remind others to do the same, cover your mouth with your elbow/arm when coughing and/or sneezing, take your vitamins, limit your consumption of social media and the news.
  2. Do what helps you feel a sense of safety! Not everyone prioritizes things the same - for example people’s importance to socialize or not to socialize during this time.
  3. Get outside in nature! The sun’s source of vitamin D is good for the body, as well as physical exercise/activities in itself!
  4. Challenge yourself to stay in the present! Easier said than done, try not to focus too much on what will happen. Bring yourself into the present and focus on what is happening (or not happening) right now. Engage in mindfulness activities.
  5. Stay connected and reach out if you need support! Talk to trusted friends or family members about what you are feeling. It’s more than okay to talk about your feelings and any concerns you may have!

Anxiety with Corona Virus (COVID-19)

Helpful tips:

  • Avoid excessive exposure to media coverage
  • Connect through calls/text/internet
  • Add extra time for daily stress relief
  • Practice self-care
  • Focus on your mental health

For Kids:

* Reassure them that they’re safe
Let them talk about their worries
Share your own coping skills
Limit their news exposure
Create a routine and structure

For quarantine/isolation:

* Keep in contact with your loved ones via social media, texts, phone calls
Create a daily self-care routine
Keep yourself busy: games, books, movies
Focus on new relaxation techniques